Stay fresh with the Miami Nights collection! Shop now ➡

Close Topbar
Arroyo Selected to Mackey Award Watch List

Arroyo Selected to Mackey Award Watch List

CORAL GABLES, Fla. — University of Miami redshirt sophomore Elijah Arroyo was among those players selected to the preseason watch list for the 2023 Mackey Award honoring the nation’s top tight end.

Arroyo caught five passes totaling 66 yards in an injury-shortened 2022 season despite playing in just four games. The third-year tight end saw action in all 12 games his freshman year, making one start and finishing with 86 yards and one touchdown. Arroyo caught the first touchdown of his career during his freshman year on a road trip to Pittsburgh; he totaled 152 yards in two seasons.

Arroyo is the fifth Hurricane to earn a major preseason accolade, joining Andy Borregales (Lou Groza Award), Javion Cohen (Outland Trophy), Kam Kinchens (Nagurski Trophy, Wuerffel Trophy) and Matt Lee (Rimington Trophy). Borregales, Cohen and Kinchens also earned Preseason All-ACC honors from the conference.


The Friends of John Mackey have released the 2023 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.