Wong Selected as an AP All-America Honorable Mention

Wong Selected as an AP All-America Honorable Mention

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – Isaiah Wong of the University of Miami men’s basketball team is a 2022-23 Associated Press (AP) All-America Honorable Mention, as announced Tuesday afternoon.

The Division I AP All-Americans are voted on by 58 college basketball journalists across the country. Selections are grouped into three teams of five, followed by four honorable mention choices. In total, Wong is one of just 19 players nationally who appeared on multiple ballots.

A native of Piscataway, N.J., Wong is the first Hurricane to garner All-America status of any kind since Shane Larkin, an AP Second Team choice, in 2012-13. Wong is also the first Miami player since Larkin to win ACC Player of the Year.

The 6-foot-4, 184-pound fourth-year junior guard is a finalist for two national player of the year trophies, the John R. Wooden Award and the Lute Olson Award. He is also among the five finalists for the Jerry West Award, presented to the best shooting guard in America.

While helping Miami claim a share of the ACC regular season championship, Wong leads the Hurricanes points (16.2), assists (3.4) and steals (1.4) per game, while also grabbing 4.3 rebounds per contest. His shooting lines are 45.3 percent, 37.8 percent and 83.6 percent on field goals, 3-pointers and free throws, respectively.

Wong and the fifth-seeded Hurricanes open play in their second straight NCAA Tournament appearance Friday at 7:25 p.m., taking on No. 12-seeded Drake, live on TBS, at MVP Arena in Albany, N.Y.

To keep up with the University of Miami men’s basketball team on social media, follow @CanesHoops on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook.

Associated Press Division I All-Americans

First Team
Zach Edey, Purdue
Trayce Jackson-Davis, Indiana
Brandon Miller, Alabama
Marcus Sasser, Houston
Jalen Wilson, Kansas

Second Team
Jaime Jaquez Jr., UCLA
Jalen Pickett, Penn State
Drew Timme, Gonzaga
Oscar Tshiebwe, Kentucky
Azuolas Tubelis, Arizona

Third Team
Armando Bacot, North Carolina
Keyontae Johnson, Kansas State
Tyler Kolek, Marquette
Kris Murray, Iowa
Markquis Nowell, Kansas State

Honorable Mention
Souley Boum, Xavier
Antoine Davis, Detroit Mercy
Kendric Davis, Memphis
Isaiah Wong, Miami