UM Holds Annual Women's Basketball Banquet

UM Holds Annual Women's Basketball Banquet

April 10, 2005


The <?xml:namespace prefix=”st1″ ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags”?>University of Miami held it’s annual Women’s Basketball Banquet in recognition of the players and support staff for the 2004-05 season Sunday evening at the University of Miami Convocation Center’s Hurricane 100 Room.<?xml:namespace prefix=”o” ns=”urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office”?>


The banquet featured a welcome reception followed by a dinner and program, during which players and support staff were presented with various awards including seniors Yalonda McCormick and Fallon Phanord.


The following are this year’s Women’s Basketball Award winners:


Award                                                                                Recipient(s)

ACC Player of the Week (Three Times)                              Tamara James 

All-ACC First Team                                                              Tamara James 

Captain Awards                                                                  Tamara James, Fallon Phanord and Yalonda McCormick

Offensive Player of the Year                                              Tamara James

Defensive Player of the Year                                             Tamara James

The “Dish” Award                                                               Yalonda McCormick

1,000 Points Scored                                                            Yalonda McCormick

Freshman Academic Award                                               Selena Eskinazi-Budge

Outstanding Academic Student Athlete Award                  Tatjana Marincic

Highest Free Throw Percentage Award                            Marianne Curtis

Highest Field Goal Percentage Award                                Tamara James

Highest Rebounder Award                                                 Tamara James

Hurricane Hustle Award                                                     Fallon Phanord

Strongest Hurricane Award                                               Albrey Grimsley

Most Improved Player Award                                             Fallon Phanord

Ella Russell Service Award Presented by Ella Russell       Mario Capone