2004 Football Award Banquet Winners

Dec. 16, 2004

Coral Gables, Fla. ( www.hurricanesports.com) — – The University of Miami football program held its annual awards banquet Thursday night at the Radisson Mart Plaza Hotel in Miami. Award winners were announced for the 2004 season.

Here is a list of this year’s award winners:

Award Winner

Offensive Back of the Year Frank Gore

Offensive Lineman of the Year Joel Rodriguez

Receiver of the Year Roscoe Parrish

Defensive Back of the Year Kelly Jennings

Defensive Lineman of the Year Orien Harris

Linebacker of the Year Roger McIntosh

Special Teams Player of the Year Devin Hester

Strength Training Athlete of the Year Brad Kunz

Jesse Armstead Comeback Player of the Year Santonio Thomas

Most Improved Offensive Player Talib Humphrey

Most Improved Defensive Player Thomas Carroll

Offensive Rookie of the Year Lance Leggett

Defensive Rookies of the Year Anthony Reddick and Romeo Davis

Hard Hitter Award Brandon Meriweather

Unsung Hero Derrick Crudup

Nick Chickillo Most Improved Player Alton Wright

Albert Bentley Most Valuable Walk-On Award Matt Carter

Walt Kichefski Hurricane Award Kevin Everett

Mariutto Scholar Athlete (Highest G.P.A.) Alex Garcia

Dale Melching Award (Leadership) Chris Myers

Plumer Memorial Award (Leadership, Motivation, Spirit) Antrel Rolle

Jack Harding Award (Team MVP) Brock Berlin

In addition, the Hurricanes honored the 16 seniors on this year’s team: QB Brock Berlin, holder Matt Carter, FB Kyle Cobia, QB Derrick Crudup, TE Kevin Everett, OL Alex Garcia, FB Talib Humphrey, OL Brad Kunz, RB Jeff Malley, OL Chris Myers, LB Rod Parker, OL Joel Rodriguez, CB Antrel Rolle, LB Kris Smith, DT Santonio Thomas and DE Alton Wright.