Football individual game tickets are now available! Buy now ➡️

Close Topbar
Butch Davis Named AFCA Region I Coach Of The Year

Butch Davis Named AFCA Region I Coach Of The Year

Dec. 4, 2000

Coral Gables, Fla. ( — – University of Miami head football coach Butch Davis has been named the Region I Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association.

The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association’s four divisions: I-A, I-AA, Division II and NAIA schools and Division III. The winners were selected by active members of the Association who vote fore coaches in their respective regions and divisions.

The Division I-A winners were Davis (Reg. I), South Carolina’s Lou Holtz (Reg. II),Northwestern’s Randy Walker (Reg. 3), Oklahoma’s Bob Stoops (Reg. 4) and Oregon State’s Dennis Erickson (Reg. 5).

Davis, the 2000 BIG EAST Coach of the Year, led Miami to a 10-1 record in 2000, including the Hurricanes first outright BIG EAST Championship since the 1994 season. The No. 2 Hurricanes received a berth in the 2001 Nokia Sugar Bowl against SEC champion Florida Gators.

The AFCA began recognizing district coaches of the year following the 1960 season. In 1983, the award was changed to recognize regional winners instead of district winners. The number of divisions was increased from two to the four now implemented, and five regional winners were selected in each division (1-A, 1-AA, NCAA Division II, NAIA and Division III). The AFCA awards are the only awards voted on exclusively by the coaches themselves.