The Canes host Virginia on Thursday!


Close Topbar
Bolden Selected to Nagurski Trophy Watch List

Bolden Selected to Nagurski Trophy Watch List

CORAL GABLES, Fla. –  University of Miami safety Bubba Bolden picked up his fourth major honor of the preseason on Tuesday when he was selected to the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Bolden was previously selected a candidate for the Chuck Bednarik Award, the Jim Thorpe Award and earned a spot on the Preseason All-ACC team.

Bolden led the Hurricanes with a team-high 74 total tackles in 2020 when he earned second-team All-ACC honors. Bolden was previously named a candidate for the Chuck Bednarik Award honoring the nation’s top defensive player.

Bolden finished with 6.5 tackles for loss and a sack to go along with one interception, three pass breakups and a team-best four forced fumbles last year. The Las Vegas native was named ACC Defensive Back of the Week twice during 2020, including after a standout performance against Clemson where he finished with 10 tackles, a forced fumble and two blocked field goals.

In addition to Bolden, seven other Hurricanes have been recognized with preseason honors: quarterback D’Eriq King (Maxwell Award, O’Brien Award), wide receiver Michael Harley (Biletnikoff Award), tight end Will Mallory (John Mackey Award) and longsnapper Clay James (AFCA Good Works Team), punter Lou Hedley (preseason All-ACC), offensive lineman Zion Nelson (Outland Trophy) and offensive lineman Jarrid Williams (Outland Trophy).

The Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of Nagurski, the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota.