The Canes host Central Connecticut State for Family Weekend on Saturday!


Close Topbar
Miami Track Opens Indoor Season at UAB

Miami Track Opens Indoor Season at UAB

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – The University of Miami track and field program is set to begin its indoor season this weekend as the Canes travel to Birmingham, Ala., for the UAB Blazer Invitational on Jan. 11 and the Vulcan Invitational on Jan. 12. 
Friday’s Blazer Invitational features 25 events, starting with the men’s shot put at 8 a.m. With 13 track events beginning at 11 a.m., running through 6:30 p.m., the men’s high jump, long jump and women’s long jump and pole vault will start at 10, followed by the men’s and women’s triple jump and men’s pole vault and women’s high jump. Live results of the meet can be followed here
Following the Blazer Invitational, a number of Canes are set to compete in the Vulcan Invitational held by the Blazers on Saturday. 
Saturday’s meet will again begin with the men’s shot put starting at 8 a.m., with more field events to follow and the first track event, the men’s 5,000m, set to start at 11 a.m. The 4x400m relay and the women’s weight throw will conclude the final day of competition for the Canes at 6:15 p.m. 
This is the second straight season the Canes will begin the indoor season in Birmingham and will return a variety of talented athletes to the Birmingham CrossPlex. Miami brings back 2018 ACC Outdoor Track MVP Symone Mason and 2018 ACC Outdoor Field and Michelle Atherley. 
In addition to Mason and Atherley, the Canes return a core group of veterans in Anne den Otter, Brittny Ellis, Samantha Gonzalez, Anna Runia and Celine Thompson. That group is bolstered by European standout freshman Molly Caudery in pole vault and Selina Dantzler in the shot put. 
On the men’s side, Miami is led in the field by 2018 ACC medalist Kevin Arreaga who earned a bronze medal in the weight throw at the conference meet. Seniors Andreas Christodoulou and Isaiah Taylor are two more veteran leaders for the Miami men, with Christodoulou excelling in the multi-events and Taylor in the sprints.  
Hasani Knight returns to Birmingham one year after an outstanding collegiate debut at the 2018 UAB Blazer Invitational. Then a freshman, Knight earned ACC Performer of the Week honors after winning the men’s triple jump at the meet with the fourth-best mark in school history. 
Six freshmen will make their Miami debut on Friday in all track events, along with senior Auburn transfer Xavier Coakley in the 60m. 
Following this weekend’s action at UAB, the Canes will have one week off before traveling to Lubbock, Texas, for the Texas Tech Classic on Jan. 25. 
Miami Entries for UAB Blazer Invitational: 
WT: Kevin Arreaga 
60m: Xavier Coakley, Christopher Moree, Chauncy Smart, Isaiah Taylor  
300m: Tyrees Moulton, Paul Spada 
500m: Luca Bhalla, Thomas Burns 
600m: Taj Bland, Davonte Fuller 
1000m: Matthew Wiefels 
60m HH: Andreas Christodoulou 
One Mile: Sean Hagert 
Triple Jump: Hasani Knight 
60m: Carolyn Brown, Symone Mason, Tia Murray, Amuru Patterson  
300m: Brittny Ellis, Isabella Gentil, Samantha Gonzalez, Symone Mason, Anna Runia   
600m: Michelle Atherley, Kayla Johnson 
1000m: Anne den Otter
60m HH:Michelle Atherley, Tiara McMinn 
4x400m: Brittny Ellis, Samantha Gonzalez, Anna Runia, Alfreda Steele 
High Jump: Michelle Atherley, Tiara McMinn, Celine Thompson  
Pole Vault: Molly Caudery
Shot Put: Debbie Ajagbe, Selina Dantzler, Hannah-Sophia Hall, Sherry Lubin   
Triple Jump: Darlene Charles, Peyton Russell 
Weight Throw: Debbie Ajagbe, Sherry Lubin
Miami Entries for UAB Vulcan Invitational: 
60m: Xavier Coakley, Christopher Moree, Chauncy Smart, Isaiah Taylor 
400m: Luca Bhalla, Thomas Burns, Davonte Fuller, Tyrees Moulton, Paul Spada     
One Mile: Taj Bland, Sean Hagert, Matthew Wiefels  
Long Jump: Andreas Christodoulou, Hasani Knight 
Shot Put: Kevin Arreaga, Andreas Christodoulou

60m: Carolyn Brown, Tia Murray, Amuru Patterson
400m: Isabella Gentil, Kayla Johnson
One Mile: Anne den Otter 
60m HH: Michelle Atherley, Tiara McMinn 
Long Jump: Michelle Atherley, Darlene Charles 
Pole Vault: Molly Caudery 
Shot Put: Debbie Ajagbe, Selina Dantzler, Hannah-Sophia Hall, Sherry Lubin